Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Beginner cycling

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-20, 07:02 AM
Dthomp22

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Beginner cycling

Hey all, I’m a beginner at cycling but I already have a good aerobic base as an avid runner (think 7:45 conversation long run pace). Every time I hop on the bike my legs seem to give in long before I’m even in aerobic zone which makes it difficult to train my aerobics! I was hoping for some advice for training going forward. I’ve read to go lower resistance and higher cadence, but I really want to build up my leg muscles to where they are almost or on par with my lungs. All advice is appreciated!
Old 05-13-20, 07:06 AM
Paul Barnard
For The Fun of It

Bikes: Lynskey GR300, Lynskey Backroad, Litespeed T6, Lynskey MT29, Burley Duet

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Quoted: 2135 Post(s)
Liked 1,647 Times in 829 Posts
Originally Posted by Dthomp22
Hey all, I’m a beginner at cycling but I already have a good aerobic base as an avid runner (think 7:45 conversation long run pace). Every time I hop on the bike my legs seem to give in long before I’m even in aerobic zone which makes it difficult to train my aerobics! I was hoping for some advice for training going forward. I’ve read to go lower resistance and higher cadence, but I really want to build up my leg muscles to where they are almost or on par with my lungs. All advice is appreciated!
Fitness can be a funny thing. It doesn't always translate well from one discipline to the next. It is going to take time. The nice thing though is with a solid fitness foundation you'll come around quickly.

How many times have you ridden and how far? What kind of bike?
Old 05-13-20, 07:14 AM
berner

Bikes: Specialized Secteur, old Peugeot