Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Winter Cycling
Reload this Page >

Complete newbie to cold weather cycling

Search
Notices
Winter Cycling Don't let snow and ice discourage you this winter. The key element to year-round cycling is proper attire! Check out this winter cycling forum to chat with other ice bike fanatics.

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-17, 09:51 PM
rachel120

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 622 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Now that the weather is starting to turn a little colder, I need to know what to do and what to expect for commuting in the winter.

Tonight it was 39 degrees when I left work, so my planned layers were put to the test, with some success and some failure. However, it was 39 degrees, not 19 with snow on the ground.

So what do I need to do to the bike and what do I need to do to myself for winter cycling? Last winter was my first winter in the area, sometimes there were snowstorms and the snow stuck around for a few days, though people said it was a mild winter.
Old 10-26-17, 10:55 PM
Daniel4

Bikes: Sekine 1979 ten speed racer

Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Quoted: 1481 Post(s)
Liked 639 Times in 437 Posts
There are alot of stickies about winter cycling in this section of the forums. Start with Winter Cycling 101 and Winter Clothing.

Don't overwhelm yourself with information overload.

Just continue cycling right into the fall and make adjustments for what you find out personally what you need to adapt.

By late fall you would have accumulated a lot of cold weather clothing.

Then when you get back to reading those stickies, they'll all make sense to you.
Old 10-26-17, 11:40 PM
PortlandEddie

Bikes: Fuji cross

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts