Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Problem with new freewheel

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-23, 09:48 PM
QuietMike

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi, I am fairly new to bikes just to start off, but learning a lot.
I have a juiced scrambler e-bike, it has a single chain ring and a 7 speed freewheel 14-28t
i replaced the freewheel with another 7 speed a 11-28t,
it shifts fine and the gearing is exactly what i wanted, but it has a problem i have not been able to solve.
with the original freewheel, if i was at a stoplight or whatever, in 1st gear (28t), i could spin the pedals backwards to position then on the other foot etc.

with this new freewheel, same gear, now when i move the pedals backwards the chain falls onto 2nd gear, and will then jam if you continue to move the pedals backwards.

i don't understand why this one does this and the original didn't,
I figured that the chain-line was at the extreme and pulling the chain to a more straight position, (though it didn't do that before)
so i installed a 3mm spacer between the freewheel and the hub - in an attempt to move the freewheel further outside, to help with the chain-line when in first gear.
it has helped but only a little.
can anyone help me fix this, or explain why this freewheel does this?
Old 04-06-23, 03:02 AM
Fredo76
The Wheezing Geezer

Bikes: 1976 Fredo Speciale, Jamis Citizen 1, Ellis-Briggs FAVORI, Rivendell Clem Smith Jr.

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked 920 Times in 447 Posts