Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

DEORE XT Brake Lever BL-M8000 broken

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-24, 10:37 AM
westfielder

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Dear all,

Going around in circles here searching for an answer. I am new to the world of quality bikes and disk brakes and certainly hydraulic ones! My son's 'expert' mate tried to tighten the brake lever mechanism on the handle bars resulting in snapping the metal of the clamp so it needs replacing. I can't seem to find a BL8000 any more.
Will a BL-8100 be interchangeable with hoses etc? There's only the brake lever on that side (left) so no gear lever to be mounted to it.. Any other suggestions welcome (including recommendations of where to buy at lower cost, time is not tight).

I understand that the brakes should only be tightened enough to stop them moving on the bar but move in a crash so stop them being broken.

Many thanks in advance

Nick
:-)
Old 04-10-24, 12:22 PM
Barry2 
LR÷P=HR

Bikes: 1981 Holdsworth Special, 1993 C-dale MT3000 & 1996 F700CAD3, 2018 Cervelo R3 & 2022 R5, JustGo Runt, Ridley Oval, Kickr Bike 8-)

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 868 Post(s)
Liked 1,213 Times in 700 Posts
Welcome to Bike Forums.

I don't understand how you can't find a BL-M8000 <<Clickable Link

What am I missing ?

Barry
Old 04-10-24, 03:25 PM
westfielder

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Barry, I did lots of similar Google searches that link to stores selling it but they're all out of stock, hence the question😃
Old 04-10-24, 03:46 PM
Barry2 
LR÷P=HR

Bikes: 1981 Holdsworth Special, 1993 C-dale MT3000 & 1996 F700CAD3, 2018 Cervelo R3 & 2022 R5, JustGo Runt, Ridley Oval, Kickr Bike 8-)