Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg)
Reload this Page >

how important is my weight?

Search
Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-07, 08:04 AM
adrien

Bikes: Firefly custom Road, Ira Ryan custom road bike, Ira Ryan custom fixed gear

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Like many here, I'm a big guy. 6'3 and change, and before cycling I was around 240, with borderline hypertension. As a child, I was very asthmatic and I couldn't even run a block until I was into my 30s.

When I started riding seriously, my weight came down to the high 220s, BP dropped and I felt great. I was not then -- nor am I now -- obsessed with my weight, and I felt great boosts in stamnina.

After several thousand miles, I've settled in the low 230s. My waist is 3 inches less than it was before, and there's more definition in my chest, I have huge thighs and my face is much more defined. I took my resting bp three times about 40 minutes after a ride last night: average was 110 / 68. I think nothing of holding my HR at 150 for 5 hours straight, and the bike is great for me mentally.

So here's the question. I'm still technically overweight. Should I try to shed pounds? would I be healthier at 215?
Old 11-22-07, 09:08 AM
Wogster

Bikes: Old Bike: 1975 Raleigh Delta, New Bike: 2004 Norco Bushpilot

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Originally Posted by adrien
Like many here, I'm a big guy. 6'3 and change, and before cycling I was around 240, with borderline hypertension. As a child, I was very asthmatic and I couldn't even run a block until I was into my 30s.