Go Back  Bike Forums > The Racer's Forum > "The 33"-Road Bike Racing
Reload this Page >

Looking for a training partner that uses power.

Search
Notices
"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-10, 10:50 PM
Out-The-Back

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hey all,

As the title says, I'm looking for a training partner that uses a power meter. Somebody in my area would be great, but it can be from anywhere. My reasons are pretty straight forward. I'm new to using a power meter, pretty new to racing, and have a lot to learn. I'm hoping to find someone that's at a similar point to discuss training and results with but also have someone to be accountable to. My thinking being, if I know someone else is going to see my power files... it might give me that extra little incentive on hard days and visa versa. The other is I'm taking in all this information but talking it through and applying it helps to reinforce it. I'll gladly work with someone who's been using this stuff for a while if any of you are willing

About me...

-I'm a Cat5 and have already done a couple races (crits) in the last few weeks with mixed results. A top 10 and a DNF due to a near crash.
-I'm training with a mission. I want to be competetive, and I have a few goals that will push my weaknesses. Riding 10-12 hours a week on average.
-I've read Friel's book and applying many of those principles, also making my way through Training and Racing with a Power Meter by Allen and Coggan and will be applying much of that. Still gathering base fitness data (doing tests) and using WKO+ software.

If anyone is interested, I'd like to hear from you so I can stop boring my wife to tears and get/give some good input.