Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Wheel size help please!! Complete newby with bike work

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-24, 03:36 PM
ODonXO28

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

So I did my research and I do have how to measure sizes and what all numbers and whatnot mean, however something I'm having trouble locating is how much wider of a tire can I put on the existing rim. Current tire is a 32×622, how much wider can I go with the tire without happening to get new rims. Any help is greatly appreciated
Old 02-05-24, 03:42 PM
FBinNY 

Bikes: too many bikes from 1967 10s (5x2)Frejus to a Sumitomo Ti/Chorus aluminum 10s (10x2), plus one non-susp mtn bike I use as my commuter

Mentioned: 140 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5792 Post(s)
Liked 2,582 Times in 1,432 Posts
There are plenty of charts offering guidelines for tire width compared to the rims they're on.

Here's one There or others, and plenty of articles if you search bicycle tire and rim width chart or something similar.

Keep in mind that these are only guidelines, and there's plenty of fudge room on either side. As a general guide, overly wide tires tend to handle more poorly and tend to wallow in turns. Overly narrow tires sit low and increase the risk of pinch flats or rim dents.

An ounce of diagnosis is worth a pound of cure.

Just because I'm tired of arguing, doesn't mean you're right.

“One accurate measurement is worth a thousand expert opinions” - Adm Grace Murray Hopper - USN

WARNING, I'm from New York. Thin skinned people should maintain safe distance.

Last edited by FBinNY; 02-05-24 at 03:50 PM.
Likes For FBinNY:
Old 02-05-24, 03:53 PM
SoCaled