Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Advocacy & Safety
Reload this Page >

What do you say to "well-wishers"?

Search
Notices
Advocacy & Safety Cyclists should expect and demand safe accommodation on every public road, just as do all other users. Discuss your bicycle advocacy and safety concerns here.

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-10, 06:14 PM
brianinc-ville

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked 57 Times in 40 Posts

So, you're unlocking your bike outside a shop and some (usually fat, often old) person steps out of their SUV, looks you up and down, and says "you be safe out there!"

Now, I'm all in favor of safety. Heck, I'm a LAB instructor. I use lots of lights, a helmet, a reflective vest, I check my brakes all the time...but this still annoys me, because the subtext is obviously "you're doing something crazy and unsafe and I don't approve!" But they're not coming out and saying what they really mean. So, what do you say back? I don't want to be a d**k, but I also don't want to reinforce their prejudices by accepting their statement uncritically. Ideally, I'd say something like "Thanks! I'm a bike safety instructor and I can show you how!" -- but that does kind of make it seem like bikes are for the trained and fanatical only.

I've started saying "Thanks! You be safe in there!", but I doubt they get it.

What's your line?
Old 02-18-10, 06:40 PM
genec
genec

Bikes: custom built, sannino, beachbike, giant trance x2

Mentioned: 86 Post(s)
Quoted: 13658 Post(s)
Liked 4,532 Times in 3,158 Posts
What's your line?
Thanks, now watch for ALL the traffic out there.
Old 02-18-10, 06:44 PM
DX-MAN
Banned

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
"I always am -- still here!"

Or, the one I started using last fall, for special occasions:

"Yeah, there's a LOTTA idiots out there!" with a meaningful look.
Old 02-18-10, 06:45 PM
Digital_Cowboy