Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Sore Quads

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-23, 10:38 AM
terrymorse 
climber has-been

Bikes: Scott Addict R1, Felt Z1

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3432 Post(s)
Liked 3,567 Times in 1,793 Posts
Sore Quads

So has anyone noticed that their quads tend to be more sore than they were when they were younger?

I've noticed lately that my quads are always slightly sore. Nothing significant, but I don't remember having constantly sore quads when I was in my 40s, even though I was definitely doing more climbing back then.

Old 11-08-23, 10:54 AM
SW84

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked 118 Times in 78 Posts
When I started riding after 50 years of not riding, mine hurt for almost a month. Now, not so much.
Likes For SW84:
Old 11-08-23, 11:03 AM
rsbob 
Grupetto Bob

Bikes: Bikey McBike Face

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 2585 Post(s)
Liked 5,646 Times in 2,924 Posts
Ayup. Without rest dayS they can ache. Climbing a couple of flights of stairs really highlights (Low-lights?) the issue when getting near the top. Can’t say that post ride stretching helps. The only way they stopped aching was to take a few involuntary days off. Aching not true of hams or calves.

I still get a kick out of feeling like I have inflated feeling quads after a workout, but there is far less mass these days.

Last edited by rsbob; 11-08-23 at 11:09 AM.
Likes For rsbob:
Old 11-08-23, 11:10 AM
jadmt

Bikes: Handsome xoxo, Serotta atx, Canyon Endurace CF8

Quoted: 904 Post(s)
Liked 1,899 Times in 849 Posts