Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Bought this 1987 "Team Comp" Cannondale for beater but it is all Campy and nice

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-11, 10:01 AM
Hoss Cartright

Bikes: Schwinns, lots of them. Some Paramounts

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked 7 Times in 6 Posts

I'm a newbie to this forum. So howdy.

I have some forum experience for many years with my vintage auto collection.

This is not a "what's it worth?" post..

This Cannondale was collecting dust at the local bike shop. Was traded-in on a spinning machine. I have known the bike since it was new. A friend of mine owned it. (knowing him, I got a better deal buying it from the bike shop after he traded it. )

So last week, I threw them a "polite" low-ball cash offer and they accepted.
(I was thinking about this bike for a month and then after looking at used Campy groupos on ebay and figured out I got this for about half the value of the second hand grupo alone, so couldn't go wrong.)

Yesterday was unseasonably warm so I took it for a 20 mile spin and I like it a lot. First aluminum bike I have ridden for any distance. I was told they ride very rigid and that you feel every little crack in the road. But honestly I think it is superb. (And especially a very light feel in comparison to my 1970s Paramounts.)

I'm not sure about the series or level of quality of this Campy group and the shifting is not indexed, the rear cluster is six speed. I searched the net for the past few days and the VIN tells me it is a 1987 model made on February the 17th.