Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Indoor & Stationary Cycling Forum
Reload this Page >

Kickr Core - Please help me decide

Search
Notices
Indoor & Stationary Cycling Forum From spin to Zwift to Peloton, this forum is dedicated to any and all indoor training on stationary bikes

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-23, 10:21 AM
yg82

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi, I’m completely new to cycling, so I apologize in advance for the stupid questions I’ll ask.

I will buy a Kickr Core, to use with a Decathlon Triban RC120 bike (Microshift 2x8 cassette, 11-34T, quick release).

Since I will only be using the bike indoors, I think I have three options:
  • get the Kickr with 8-speed cassette included for €630. Unfortunately the cassette is 11-28, so I’m not sure if it will work with my bike.
  • buy the Kickr without a cassette (€500), take the cassette from the bike and mount it on the Kickr
  • buy the Kickr for €500 and an 8spd 11-34 cassette for €15; Shimano CS hg31 / HG41 / HG51 seem to be the only options available but they are marketed as MTB cassettes; will it cause any problems?
What do you think would be the best option, considering I know nothing about bicycle mechanics? I know that the €630 Kickr package includes a 1 year Zwift subscription, but I don’t consider that in my decision, because I think I’ll use Rouvy.

Thanks
Old 11-26-23, 03:32 PM
spelger

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 1139 Post(s)
Liked 1,182 Times in 687 Posts