Go Back  Bike Forums > Community Connections > Regional Discussions > Southern California
Reload this Page >

New Commuter San Gabriel to Van Nuys

Search
Notices
Southern California Southern California

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-22, 11:29 AM
Victor626

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Hi All,

I am a newb at commuting, recently I entered the scene by tackling my commute from Alhambra to Van Nuys, approx 29 miles, 2.5 hours each way.

riding on a simple utilitarian rig, (Trek Fx3 hybrid) - been a great bike so far.

does anyone have a similar commute, Any tips for someone new?

thanks
Old 07-31-22, 04:45 PM
TakingMyTime

Bikes: Canyon Endurace

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 1041 Post(s)
Liked 923 Times in 540 Posts
I think commuting is like bike touring, after you've done it for a little while you realize what is important and what's not.

Other than be sure to be able to handle flats make sure you get yourself some rain gear.
Old 07-31-22, 05:13 PM
mschwett 

Bikes: addict, aethos, creo, vanmoof, sirrus, public ...

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 1278 Post(s)
Liked 1,392 Times in 710 Posts
i don't commute nearly that far on a daily basis, although i do sometimes ride to work locales that are about the same range.

i'd sum it up as storage, comfort, reliability, and speed. if you can tolerate the weight of a backpack on your back for that duration of riding, it's a good choice if it fits whatever change of clothes is needed. otherwise panniers. for comfort, i went with the largest tires my frame would fit, tubeless for low pressures and reliability. speed... for that length of riding, a moderately aerodynamic position is important to me, being the biggest determinant of speed. if you really want to get there faster, a lightweight ebike is not a bad choice for that kind of range. if the lights were cooperative, i bet you could do it in 90-100 minutes on a class 3 ebike... if that matters to you.