Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Experiences with Jeep Wrangler spare-tire mounted bike racks?

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-15, 04:44 AM
BookFinder 
Lifelong wheel gazer ...

Bikes: All garage sale finds...

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked 36 Times in 26 Posts

After 21 years in Ford Ranger pickups as a daily driver I have an '06 Jeep TJ that I am tending to drive more and more. So I'm looking at putting a rack on the Wrangler to take the bike along for my late afternoon, on the way home from work rec and fitness rides.

Next, while I like what I know about hitch mounted tray style racks, I'm shying away from a hitch mounted rack because I want easy access to the rear storage via the tail gate. In other words, I don't want to have to unload the bike in a pouring rain to get to the rear storage of the Wrangler.

Finally, the security advantages of the bolt-on rack as opposed to one of the clamp or strap arrangements are a no-brainer. Perhaps I've missed one in the reading, but the big three bolt-ons seem to boil down to racks by Hollywood, Saris, and Yakima. Mercy - they all think highly of their products!

Anyway, stick shock factors aside, experienced opinions of the bolt-on options from other Wrangler owners would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Rick

Status quo is the mental bastion of the intellectually lethargic...
Old 05-28-15, 04:53 AM
Looigi

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 12 Posts