Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Shipping a Bike

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-16, 09:57 AM
AZSkeptic

Bikes: 2014 Trek 1.5

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Shipping a Bike

I'm an attorney who will be starting a two week trial mid-March on the other side of the country. I'd like to continue some training during that period and am contemplating sending my bike and training stand to the hotel where I'll be staying. Has anyone had any experience with this, and if so, any tips on the best and most affordable way to go about doing this?
Old 01-15-16, 10:20 AM
Retro Grouch 

Bikes: Catrike 559 I own some others but they don't get ridden very much.

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Quoted: 1572 Post(s)
Liked 644 Times in 365 Posts
Hmmm. Disassemble and pack the bike and trainer. Ship across country. Reassemble and set up at the other end. Then redo everything 2 weeks later.

Honestly, "affordable" isn't a word that comes to mind.
Old 01-15-16, 10:57 AM
mconlonx

Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Quoted: 7148 Post(s)
Liked 134 Times in 92 Posts
Many options.

Affordable: go to your LBS and ask for a bike box + packing material, check out "how to pack/ship a bike" tutorials online, and then figure out the convenience/cost ratio of either shipping it via FedEx/UPS or bringing it with you on the plane as stowed luggage. Maybe check out BikeFlights.

Less affordable: have your local shop deal with packing and shipping your bike; arrange for a local shop on the other end to receive, unpack, assemble. And then reverse the process on the way back.

Expensive: Get a dedicated hardcase bike case, like some of the Thule offerings or similar, and then... pack and ship yourself, have a shop do it, etc.