Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Recumbent
Reload this Page >

Newb question; what is the point and purpose of a Recumbent bike?

Search
Notices
Recumbent What IS that thing?! Recumbents may be odd looking, but they have many advantages over a "wedgie" bicycle. Discuss the in's and out's recumbent lifestyle in the recumbent forum.

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-16, 11:00 AM
Punchy71

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello,
Sorry if this has been asked before, but I'm a newb. What is the point and purpose of a Recumbent bike? Also; what are some advantages and disadvantages of a Recumbent over a standard bike?
Thanks
Old 03-21-16, 11:07 AM
10 Wheels
Galveston County Texas

Bikes: 02 GTO, 2011 Magnum

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Quoted: 1355 Post(s)
Liked 1,251 Times in 627 Posts

BentRider Online Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Old 03-21-16, 02:12 PM
BlazingPedals

Bikes: Trek 7500, RANS V-Rex, Optima Baron, Velokraft NoCom, M-5 Carbon Highracer, Catrike Speed

Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Quoted: 1514 Post(s)
Liked 735 Times in 456 Posts
Some get into recumbents for their comfort, some get into them for their speed.
Old 03-21-16, 04:24 PM
rydabent
Banned

Bikes: RANS Stratus TerraTrike Tour II

Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Quoted: 3352 Post(s)
Liked 1,056 Times in 635 Posts
A recumbent bike is simply transportation like any bike. Then you get to the first and main positive thing about bents, they are comfortable. Beyond that there are a large number of reasons why all of us bent riders think they are the superior way to ride. IMO there are few drawbacks to riding a bent.

Of course you cant race them in UCI races, and bents are not good mountain bikes.
Old 03-21-16, 05:05 PM
Punchy71

Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
.... well, this brings up another question; what kind of price can a total newb expect to pay for an entry level price point on either a new or used one?
Old 03-21-16, 05:43 PM
BlazingPedals