Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

NBD, Buyers Remorse?

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

NBD, Buyers Remorse?

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-17, 09:13 PM
Jixr
Banned.

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
NBD, Buyers Remorse?

I've been riding a fixed gear for 2 years now, and have been wanting to get a nice road bike.

I've been working a side gig and had some money saved up, and found a 2013 Fuji SST 2.1 at a performance bike for $1300 ( a few years old but still new ) It originally was $3k, so it seemed like a good deal. I'm a PB member and get $130 back in store credit that I could use for new bar tape, tires, a matching bottle cage or whatever little goodies I find, so overall it seems like a really good deal. The way I look at it, minus the money I made from my little side gig, my 'normal' money i'm only out like $500

Full carbon aero frame, nice wheels, ultegra shifters brakes and a rotor crankset.

Bike is stupid light at 17lbs

Riding it it feels smooth and is easy for me to sustain a 20mph pace compared to riding my FG.

But i'm kinda thinking I spent too much money. I ride a good bit, I did 3500 miles last year, and hoping to do more this year. While the bike is stupid nice, despite the age I couldn't find anything else sporting ultegra and a carbon frame in its price range. ( most things were carbon with 105 and no-name brakes and other little parts ) I could just buy a cheaper bike but every cheaper bike I've ridden the heavy weight and clunky and inefficient shifting is so much that i'd rather just be on my 16lb fixed gear