Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fitting Your Bike
Reload this Page >

Bike Suggestions for Large Male

Search
Notices
Fitting Your Bike Are you confused about how you should fit a bike to your particular body dimensions? Have you been reading, found the terms Merxx or French Fit, and don’t know what you need? Every style of riding is different- in how you fit the bike to you, and the sizing of the bike itself. It’s more than just measuring your height, reach and inseam. With the help of Bike Fitting, you’ll be able to find the right fit for your frame size, style of riding, and your particular dimensions. Here ya’ go…..the location for everything fit related.

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-20, 06:07 PM
chadkams

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 3 Posts

I am a complete novice when it comes to bicycles and a giant man. I would like to begin biking as a method to lose some weight. I am 6’4 and about 420 lbs. Most bikes I have researched have either don’t have a high enough weight capacity or they don’t list a weight capacity at all. Would anyone have any advice on what types of bikes I should be looking at or what brands sell bikes for larger riders?
Likes For chadkams:
Old 07-31-20, 12:57 PM
Standalone 
The Drive Side is Within

Bikes: Road, Cargo, Tandem, Etc.

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked 44 Times in 28 Posts
Hi and welcome! I’m your height and am at about 220. So I don’t have personal experience being a heavier rider but as a sort of big dude I’ve always read articles about heavy cyclists and their gear with interest.

Steel is strong, resilient, and comfortably springy. I’m pretty sure that will be your best bet as far as frame material.

https://zizebikes.com/

Here is a manufacturer that designs and builds bikes for riders up to 550 pounds. I haven’t read up on them but their website is a good place to start.