Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Any Info on This 1970s Beaut?

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-20, 06:17 PM
twm182

Bikes: 89 Trek 660, 94 Rockhopper Grocery-Getter, No Name Carbon Franken[road]bike

Liked 6 Times in 5 Posts

Hi folks, could anyone help me ID and provide any other info on this bike I picked up the other day? No "make" decal or head badge has made things quite frustrating. I'm planning a full overhaul/resto.

I'm fairly new to the C&V scene so please correct any info I already have if needed but go easy on me: )

I can't find any exact matches on the frame anywhere. Perhaps it was made by an individual frame builder? I picked up another bike from the same seller also without any decals or badge (I'll likely post pictures of it later. It was his wife's from the same time period but 531 tubes with campy dropouts and 600 Arabasque groupset).

Thanks!

Tange Champion tubes. Sakae handlebar.

Seems like the shape and polished fork crown is unique. Can't find any exact matches.

The lugs seen on the inside of the fork look just like pictures of Nishiki Pro ONP but some of the other lugs don't match

This serial number looks like some Centurions I have seen, but I can't match the frame to any models. I would assume this indicated 1977?

First generation DA. The pedals are Lyotard. That "Professional" decal is the only identifying decal.

The dropouts are Shimano

Ideale 80 Type Record
Likes For twm182:
Old 12-09-20, 06:29 PM
merziac

Bikes: Merz x 5 + Specialized Merz Allez x 2, Strawberry/Newlands/DiNucci/Ti x3, Gordon, Fuso/Moulton x2, Bornstein, Paisley,1958-74 Paramounts x3, 3rensho, 74 Moto TC, 73-78 Raleigh Pro's x5, Marinoni x2, 1960 Cinelli SC, 1980 Bianchi SC, PX-10 X 2