Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

New bike (OCR3), new rider

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-07, 05:44 PM
oahu750s

Bikes: Cheap!

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello all,
I am fairly new convert to the cycling scene. I started riding a lot last year after having some back issues, 19 years in the Army will do that to you The family and I bought cheap mountain bikes, plus a trailer, at Toy-R-Us so we could ride around the neighborhood. I started riding more and more and have been doing 50-70 miles a week; I decided to buy a road bike because I have set a goal to ride a century in September. After much searching, looking at the normal beginner bikes: Trek 1000, Giant OCR3, Specialized Alez, etc. I went to a bike shop yesterday looking at a 2006 OCR3, really liked it, and when the guy said they were on sale for $390 I said sold. Anyway, went for my first ride last night and felt like I was going to get a speeding ticket compared to my 30+ pound mountain bike. I am really looking forward to going on some longer rides. I am a little paranoid about damaging the rims riding on the bumpy roads around here. Anybody have any problems damaging their rims? I am talking strict road work, up and down sidewalks and such. I am sure you will see me around asking a bunch of newbie questions (after searching the forums).

Ride safe,
Chuck
Old 03-27-07, 05:53 PM
cuski
Chunky Programmer

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Old 03-27-07, 06:02 PM
Sprocket Man
Prefers Aluminum