Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

How do I improve my endurance?

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-08, 03:37 PM
soma5
Hanging On

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

A little history. I used to race a long time ago. I started riding last July after 12 years off the bike. After some 1500 miles, I find that I've recovered some of my speed and climbing ability. I ride with a group of relatively fast non-racers. At the beginning of a ride, I have no difficulty riding at well over 20 mph and pushing the pace higher. I'm not especially breathing hard. I can climb hills a lot better than I thought I'd be able to, but my w/kg is favorable only because i don't have very many kg (57). After about 30 miles into the ride, I seem to lose it. I'm not only not pushing the pace, I'm barely hanging on.

Here's my question. What is the best generally-accepted method of increasing my endurance? Is it intervals or more LSD? I'm just coming off nursing a sore knee, so it appears that I pushed a little too hard for the number of miles I have in my legs. Should I just get some more base miles before trying to train?

Thanks.

-soma5
Old 02-10-08, 03:46 PM
ridethecliche
Batüwü Creakcreak

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked 289 Times in 161 Posts
Originally Posted by soma5