Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Tandem Cycling
Reload this Page >

Wheel questions

Search
Notices
Tandem Cycling A bicycle built for two. Want to find out more about this wonderful world of tandems? Check out this forum to talk with other tandem enthusiasts. Captains and stokers welcome!

Wheel questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-12, 04:03 PM
HoraceLai

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wheel questions

I am very very new to tandem riding. I borrowed a tandem from a friend, and then decided to buy my own. I think it is 1994 Nashbar 1000RT and it is not in the best condition

One thing I noticed is that the rear wheel has spokes that are not completely straight. From the rim to the hub, it starts off at a vertical angle, and then bends towards the hub in a not so gradual way. I am not sure if this is an issue. But if it is, I might as well get a new wheel.

What are the differences between a wheel for a tandem bike vs. a regular bike? Anything I should note for?

I googled this topic and it seems like most tandems have rear spacing of around 145. However, mine is only 135mm. I was wondering if that would limit me in any way.
Old 12-23-12, 07:27 PM
nfmisso
Nigel

Bikes: 1980s and 1990s steel: CyclePro, Nishiki, Schwinn, SR, Trek........

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Hi Horace;

Tandem wheels tend to be built stronger with more and stronger spokes.

Are you sure that it is 135mm OLD ? 140mm is more likely.

You should also decide, what if any upgrades you want to do. Do you want to keep 7 speed rear?

Wheels are the most expensive components on a bike.