Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Painting issue: New (DIY) paint flaking off

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-13, 11:33 PM
acoustic

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi everyone, hope this section is the best place to post this.

I had my old road bike laying around (it's a cheap bike) and I decided to make a city cruiser kinda thing out of it for my girlfriend. And as the title says, I'm having problems with my paint flaking off. I'm new to painting and tried to do as much reading as I could through what I did find on google before I started.

Looks like this might be a problem of the surface not being prepared properly for painting and since I want to learn from this mistake I'd appreciate some feedback.

Here are the order of steps I took:

(Step 1 - Took 2-3 days)
1. Strip the paint down to the metal using detailed sander and sand paper, paint stripper in some places.

2. Wipe clean the frame with some rags.

3. Wipe the frame with thinner to remove any grease, oil.

4. Apply primer until the frame is covered fully (see the photo for the type of primer: new link bottom of the post)

(Step 2 - Which was actually a few weeks after I applied primer, due to rain-I don't have access to a closed garage and don't have the work space in my apartment)
5. Sand the primer with 400 grit sandpaper (dry), apply primer to areas which were sanded too much.

(Step 3 - 3 days after sanding and re-applying primer)
6. Sand the remaining primer to make a smooth surface overall (400 grit, dry).

7. Wipe clean the frame with rags.