Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Bigger rear sprocket or suck it up?!

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-13, 05:38 PM
GaryPitts

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm still a rookie at this, 2.5 years in, plus I'm older, 58. I recently got my first drop bar bike and joined my local cycling club and between the two my average speed has gone up from around 14.5 to 16.5 MPH. Onward and upward, right?! This is my first bike with a 50/34 front and 11/28 rear. Next closest I have is 50/34 and 11/32.

Riding a metric last weekend with a few serious hills, I was straining to get up a few of them with a pretty low cadence which got me wondering... Should I just suck it up and keep developing my skills or would it beneficial to replace the rear sprocket with a 12/30 or better 12/32 to help with the big hills as I continue to develop? Would appreciate hearing what others that have been though this may offer. Thanks!
Old 06-08-13, 05:40 PM
MegaTom

Bikes: Specialized Roubaix SL3, Lynskey Cooper CX

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What kind of rear derailleur do you have? You might already be at its upper limit with the 28.
Old 06-08-13, 05:44 PM
Bah Humbug
serious cyclist

Bikes: S1, R2, P2

Liked 3,685 Times in 2,028 Posts
If you're straining but making it, can you work hard and consistently to get your power up some? You shouldn't need worlds more power to get the cadence up to a more comfortable level. If 34/28 is too hard, you're talking either a mid-cage and 12-32 or switching to a triple.
Old 06-08-13, 06:01 PM
hamster

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts