Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Shoe/Pedal Combo

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Shoe/Pedal Combo

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-13, 09:05 AM
Sennis

Bikes: Cannondale

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Shoe/Pedal Combo

I'm fairly new to road cycling, and I have been riding for about the past month with platform pedals and my nike running shoes. Its not terrible, but I am looking to purchase a new set of pedals with shoes. Clips obviously. I was wondering what would be a good set for somebody who is just starting to seriously get into riding and doing triathlons. I don't want to spend too much, but I'm not going to buy cheap stuff and have it last no longer than a couple months.
Old 07-15-13, 09:11 AM
generalkdi

Bikes: Argon18 Gallium 2016, Trek Emonda SL6 Pro 2018, Salsa Beargrease

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
buy 105 SPD pedals, they are cheap and works well. For the shoes, go with what comfortable and fits your budget. Carbon sole is nice, but if it's out of budget, just go with plastic, it does the job.
Old 07-15-13, 09:15 AM
Elduderino2412
Tour De French Fries

Bikes: 2010 Cervelo R3 SL & 2013 Airborne Goblin

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tons of combinations. Make sure if you buy 3 hole cleats you buy 3 hole compatible shoes. The 2 hole configuration is usually used for mountain biking cleats.
Old 07-15-13, 09:19 AM
MegaTom

Bikes: Specialized Roubaix SL3, Lynskey Cooper CX

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Shimano SPD-SL for pedals. Buy a shoe locally to make sure it fits your foot as well as your budget.
Old 07-15-13, 09:44 AM
KevinF
Keep on climbing

Bikes: 2004 Calfee Tetra Pro