Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg)
Reload this Page >

Several Personal Milestones Achieved After 38 Days

Search
Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-13, 12:00 PM
Pedalocity

Bikes: 2014 Giant Defy Advanced SL 1

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

I usually confine my chattering about my rides to the distance goal threads, but I wanted to make a thread to celebrate a few personal milestones I've achieved in the last couple of days.

I started riding on June 25 of this year, and for the first couple of weeks I was killing myself to do 5 km at ~18 km/h moving average. I thought it was going to take ages to be able to build up to any double digit distance.

July 12 - My first 10 km ride / 19.6 km/h moving average

July 14 - My first 15 km ride

July 21 - My first 20+ km ride / 17.2 km/h moving average

July 30 - My first 25+ km ride / 21.7 km/h moving average, last 20 km were at 22.5 km/h (14 mph), first time using the 50t chainring on all flats + descents, first time making a complete lap of my neighborhood staying in the 50t chainring the whole way (include ascents)

August 1 - My first 30 km ride / 21.9 km/h moving average

From feeling like I was dying after 5 km to belting out 30 km in 38 days as a ~300 lb clyde who hasn't worked out regularly in several years. Feels good man.

Oh, and if anyone's interested here's what my bike has evolved into over the same period:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
After 30 km.jpg (99.6 KB, 93 views)
Old 08-01-13, 12:08 PM
PhotoJoe 
Just Plain Slow

Bikes: Lynskey R230

Mentioned: 40 Post(s)