Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Chafing on Sit Bones Area

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-23, 09:19 AM
tenniscyclist

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 6 Posts

I ride my road bike once during the weekend (40-50 miles/17-18 mph) and ride relaxed sessions on my stationary bike twice during the week (2.5 hours a session). I have developed friction spots on my sit bones area that are irritated (ouch...stinging sore) from my road bike saddle. I have been riding for a couple of years, and although my sit bones would get sore at times in the past, this chafing/friction is a relatively new situation with the same saddle. Where I live now, I don't have a bike expert/store within two hours driving distance, so chamois cream has been the most helpful thing at this point. I have experimented a little with saddle tilt and tried a different saddle. Are there any standard recommendations (e.g., saddle tilt or saddle height) that might help fix this problem? Thanks in advance.
Old 09-05-23, 09:27 AM
CAT7RDR

Bikes: 1999 Schwinn Peloton Ultegra 10, Kestrel RT-1000 Ultegra, Trek Marlin 6 Deore 29'er

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked 1,962 Times in 945 Posts
Quality bibshorts/Chamois and Bag Balm stopped this issue for me for good.
My saddles are perfectly level.
Old 09-05-23, 09:45 AM
rsbob 
Grupetto Bob

Bikes: Bikey McBike Face

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 2591 Post(s)
Liked 5,661 Times in 2,928 Posts