Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

'81 Schwinn World Sport: derailleur help please!

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-10, 09:44 AM
given.am

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'll start off by saying I'm a complete novice, I know hardly anything about bikes or riding, save what I learned in about 4 hours of research lastnite. That said, I bought this bike for $50 off Craigslist to commute to work. I was cleaning it yesterday and in my haste in taking apart the derailleur to clean it, I believe I either reassembled it wrong or it's not affixed to the bike in the original manner. While it rides ok around the block ok, the chain doesn't appear to have much tension on it, a reason for concern if I'm going to be 4-5 miles from home. Would anyone kindly have pictures or diagrams of how this is supposed to look? Help would be greatly appreciated since I need it on the road to go to work in the morning! Pics available if needed

edit: one other thing. when I took apart the derailleur I removed a spring that determines the "springiness" of the device. there were three holes (which I'm assuming are performance settings) the spring could be inserted in, all with varying levels of tension on the spring. how do I know if my setting is correct?

Last edited by given.am; 05-10-10 at 11:07 AM.
Old 05-10-10, 09:54 AM
Fixie Flyer

Bikes: Mercier Kilo WT 2009, Fuji Sunfire 1.0 2009, Schwinn Traveler 1988, Cannondale SR 500 1988, Giant Boulder MTB 1989, Trek 800 1997, Schwinn Speedster 1968, Schwinn Collegiate 1974, Schwinn Varsity 1962, Raleigh Three Speed 1971, and 3 cruisers.

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If the bike has the old style rear dropout, just pull the rear wheel towards the rear and make sure the chain is taught.