Search
Notices
Classic and Vintage Bicycles: Whats it Worth? Appraisals. Use this subforum for all requests as to "How much is this vintage bike worth?"Do NOT try to sell it in here, use the Marketplaces.

1972 Gitane Tour de France

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-13, 07:46 AM
Mace350

Liked 5 Times in 3 Posts
1972 Gitane Tour de France

Is it worth the price? It's less than a mile from my work

https://www.ebay.com/itm/1972-All-Ori...51001357256%26
Old 02-27-13, 08:19 AM
oddjob2
Still learning

Bikes: Still a garage full

Liked 66 Times in 44 Posts
Sharp looking bike. It's one of those you'd never want out of your site. I'm curious about the Campagnolo wheels, as typically French bikes pretty much had all French components, but I am not a Gitane expert. Wait for TMar or Chombi to weigh in, they're the French bike experts.

I'd say the seller is about 20-25% over FMV, considering what PX10s and similar other 531's are going for, but condition is everything.
Old 02-27-13, 09:11 AM
T-Mar

Liked 3,052 Times in 1,885 Posts
I sold Gitane during the boom and this one is sending up some flags with respect to orginality. Campagnolo hubs were a factory option but the rims were tubular and these appear to clincher which was a common aftermarket modification. Regardless, the rims aren't matched, so the're not OEM. The forks were half painted. The standard crankset was a Stronglight 93, though we've seen quite a few with Sugino and there's been some buzz about possible distributor substitution due to shortages and or defects. Still, until there's some solid proof, everybody is going to consider Stronglight as OEM.